Have you met Tim yet?

timTim started training with Vancouver Mind-Body Centre (VMBC) in 2014. He is one of our most consistent kettlebell students and as a result, one of our strongest. It is a rare occasion that he misses our Tuesday/Thursday noon hour class, or a Sunday class. He was also one of our first members to participate in our popular Tabata Max program, and he is now a regular in our new Flexibility class.

The Snatch Test is one of the fundamental strength tests of kettlebell training. It involves completing 100 snatches within 5 minutes. Men are usually expected to use a 24 kg kettlebell, and women are to use a 16 kg kettlebell. This is a difficult test which requires consistent and diligent training to complete.

I remember the first time I was able to do 100 snatches in 5 minutes with a 24kg bell. I never thought I could do it and on the day it happened… well it was a huge boost to my confidence and the feeling of accomplishment was amazing.

What’s the kettlebell snatch? Click here find out

We asked Tim how his training has affected him outside of the gym and this is what he had to say:

I have been self-employed for 17 years. Training at VMBC has helped me ground my schedule in a way that gives me meaningful and rich touchstones in my days. It helps me get out of the office, which is always a victory, and has helped me to feel much more alive and vibrant. Even on days when I’m stiff and feeling yesterday’s workout, the rewards of getting more and more in touch with my somatic self has been enormously enriching to my life. I’ve experienced physical experiences I never thought would be possible and kettlebell training has played an important role in these experiences.

Tim is excited to continue his training throughout 2017. Here are just a few of his goals for this year:

  • To be able to keep going 🙂
  • Improve flexibility by 15-20%
  • Improve upper body strength (preferably without bulking up too much – I always prefer strength over size)
  • Do a bloody pistol squat!!!

As Tim continues to work on his goals this year, we will continue to periodically introduce you to our members and their stories. If you think there is someone we should feature, let us know and we will see if they would agree.

Have you met Tim yet?

Leave a Reply

